AFL Rising Star 2023: Nominees, odds, eligible players, criteria, past winners

Buckley, Cousins, Goodes, Riewoldt, Selwood.

It doesn’t have the prestige of some of the game’s other individual awards, but it has marked the beginning of some truly brilliant careers.

The NAB Rising Star recognizes the talent that will make the competition shine for years to come.

Back a team head-to-head and if they lead by 12+ points at half-time, you get paid! Max win $100. Excludes residents of SA. The terms and conditions apply. Gamble responsibly.

Round 1 – Harry Sheezel (North Melbourne)

The inaugural contestant for the 2023 AFL season is here and it’s none other than North Melbourne’s Harry Sheezel.

Picked three in the 2022 draft, Sheezel dominated his debut game in a position he didn’t play much football in.

Kangaroos trainer Alastair Clarkson put the 18-year-old back more than half, where he collected 34 disposals and nine marks in an extraordinary performance.

Sheezel also broke a 39-year-old record and amassed the third-most touches in his first match, tied with Greg Williams and Dean Greig.

Rising Star Odds

Odds on BlueBet (15/3).

player Price
Will Ashcroft (Brisbane) $2.25
Harry Sheezel (North Melbourne) $3.75
Finn Callaghan (GWS) $9
Cameron Mackenzie (Hawthorn) $13
Reuben Ginbey (West Coast) $15
Sam Darcy (Western Bulldogs) $15
Mattaes Phillipou (St Kilda) $19
Mitch Owens (St Kilda) $19
Jai Culley (West Coast) $21
Bailey Humphrey (Gold Coast) $26
Read  London-based Sport Buff raises €2.5M to help broadcasters drive engagement

What is the climber?

Established in 1993, the Rising Star is awarded to the AFL’s top young player.

Each week, a panel of experts nominates an eligible player for the entire competition based on their performance in that round or their work so far this season.

At the end of the home and away seasons, the panel votes 5-4-3-2-1 for the young players who have been certified as having the best seasons, with the promoted player with the most votes being awarded.

The winner is traditionally announced after the final round of the regular season.

Promotion Criteria

Players must be 20 or under at the start of the season and have played fewer than 10 games.

As with the Brownlow Medal, suspended players are ineligible for the award but can still be nominated.

2023 Eligible Players


Hugh Bond, James Borlase, Billy Dowling, Mac Michalanney, Luke Nankervis, Tariek Newchurch, Luke Pedlar, Zac Taylor


Will Ashcroft, Shadeau Brain, Blake Coleman, Jaspa Fletcher, Kai Lohmann, Carter Michael, Harry Sharp, Henry Smith, James Tunstill, Darcy Wilmot


Domanic Akuei, Jaxon Binns, Jack Carroll, Lachlan Cowan, Oliver Hollands, Harry Lemmey


Ed Allab, Aiden Begg, Arlo Draper, Harvey Harrison, Reef McInnes, Cooper Murley, Jacob Ryan, Oscar Steene


Kaine Baldwin, Massimo D’Ambrosio, Jayden Davey, Alwyn Davey Jr., Lewis Hayes, Alastair Lord, Jye Menzie, Anthony Munkara, Zach Reid, Elijah Tsatas, Patrick Voss, Tex Wanganeen


Jye Amiss, Eric Benning, Hugh Davies, Joshua Draper, Neil Erasmus, Matthew Johnson, Max Knobel, Conrad Williams, Karl Worner


Jhye Clark, Ted Clohesy, Toby Conway, Oliver Dempsey, Phoenix Foster, Mitch Knevitt, Oscar Murdoch, Shannon Neale, Osca Riccardi, Cooper Whyte, James Willis

Read  DICK'S Sporting Goods, Inc. (NYSE:DKS) Shares Sold by Federated Hermes Inc.

gold coast

Mac Andrew, Sandy Brock, Oskar Faulkhead, Elijah Hollands, Bailey Humphrey, Joel Jeffrey, Lloyd Johnston, Ned Moyle, Bodhi Uwland


Ryan Angwin, Aaron Cadman, Finn Callaghan, Josh Fahey, Cameron Fleeton, Jason Gilbee, Max Gruzewski, Cooper Hamilton, Darcy Jones, Nicholas Madden, Toby McMullin, Harry Rowston, Conor Stone


Joshua Bennetts, Sam Butler, Henry Hustwaite, Ned Long, Bailey Macdonald, Cam Mackenzie, Seamus Mitchell, Fionn O’Hara, Jack O’Sullivan, Max Ramsden, Jai Serong, Josh Weddle


Jed Adams, Kyah Farris-White, Blake Howes, Matthew Jefferson, Bailey Laurie, Judd McVee, Andy Moniz-Wakefield, Oliver Sestan, Deakyn Smith, Jacob van Rooyen, Will Verrall, Taj Woewodin

North Melbourne

Jackson Archer, Miller Bergman, Blake Drury, Jacob Edwards, Eddie Ford, Brayden George, Josh Goater, Cooper Harvey, Harry Sheezel, Phoenix Spicer, George Wardlaw

Port Adelaide

Nathan Barkla, Jase Burgoyne, Hugh Jackson, Ollie Lord, Kyle Marshall, Tom McCallum, Thomas Scully, Josh Sinn, Dante Visentini


Sam Banks, Jacob Bauer, Tom Brown, Seth Campbell, Judson Clarke, Steely Green, Kaleb Smith, Tyler Sonsie

St Kilda

Oscar Adams, Matthew Allison, Max Heath, Olli Hotton, Isaac Keeler, Angus McLennan, Mitch Owens, Jack Peris, Mattaes Phillipou, James Van Es


William Edwards, Hugh Hall-Kahan, Jacob Konstanty, Jaiden Magor, Caleb Mitchell, Cameron Owen, Lachlan Rankin, Matt Roberts, Marc Sheather, Angus Sheldrick, Cooper Vickery, Corey Warner

West Coast

Jordyn Baker, Harry Barnett, Rhett Bazzo, Coby Burgiel, Campbell Chesser, Jai Culley, Tyrell Dewar, Reuben Ginbey, Elijah Hewett, Noah Long, Zane Trew, Jack Williams, Isiah Winder

Western bulldogs

Dominic Bedendo, Jedd Busslinger, Charlie Clarke, Luke Cleary, Sam Darcy, Harvey Gallagher, Arthur Jones, Cody Raak

Read  8 Rude Things People Do At Sporting Events

Past Winners

AFL Rising Star winner
Recipient Association Voices Year
Nathan Buckley Brisbane Bears N / A 1993
Chris Scott Brisbane Bears N / A 1994
Nick Holland hawthorn N / A 1995
Ben cousins West Coast N / A 1996
Michael Wilson Port Adelaide 27 1997
Byron Pickett North Melbourne 30 1998
Adam Goodes Sydney 33 1999
Paul Hasleby Fremantle 33 2000
Justin Koschitzke St Kilda 31 2001
Nick Riewoldt St Kilda 34 2002
Sam Mitchell hawthorn 33 2003
Jared Rivers Melbourne 45* 2004
Brett Deledio Richmond 42 2005
Danielle Pearce Fremantle 42 2006
Joel Selwood geelong 44 2007
Rhys Palmer Fremantle 44 2008
Daniel Reich Brisbane 45* 2009
Dan Hannebery Sydney 45* 2010
Dyson Heppel Essendon 44 2011
DanielThalia Adelaide 43 2012
Jaeger O’Meara gold coast 44 2013
Lewis Taylor Brisbane 39 2014
Jess Hogan Melbourne 49 2015
Callum Mills Sydney 49 2016
Andrew McGrath Essendon 51 2017
Jaidyne Stephenson Collingwood 52 2018
Sam Walsh carlton 54 2019
Kaleb Serong Fremantle 48 2020
Luke Jackson Melbourne 51 2021
Nick Daicos Collingwood 60* 2022

*Denotes maximum votes

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button