Carabao Cup fixtures 2022/23: Draw, results, dates, times, TV channel and live streams for every round to final

A total of 92 clubs will be battling to succeed Liverpool as winners of the 2022/23 Carabao Cup, also known as the League Cup or EFL Cup, which is the first major domestic cup to be awarded each year in England.

Liverpool defeated Chelsea in the final of the 2021/22 edition after a memorable penalty shoot-out decided the clash between the two Premier League heavyweights. Liverpool defeated Norwich City (3rd round), Preston North End (4th round), Leicester City (quarter-finals) and Arsenal (semi-finals) en route to the title.

The 92 clubs taking part in the tournament come from the top four tiers of English football: Premier League (20 clubs), Championship (24 clubs), League One (24) and League Two (24).

The 13 Premier League clubs not participating in European cup competitions participate in the 2nd round and the remaining seven teams participate in the 3rd round.

  • 1 round: 9th-11th August
  • 2nd round: 23-25 August
  • 3rd round (round of 32): 8th-10th November
  • 4th round (round of 16): 20-22 December
  • Quarter finals: 10-12 January
  • Semifinals: 24-26 January (stage 1), 31 January–2 2 (stage 2)
  • Final: Sun, February 26th

Each round is single-elimination except for the semifinals, which are played over two legs (no away goals tiebreak). There is no overtime up to and including the quarter-finals, after 90 minutes it goes straight to penalties.

However, extra time will apply to the semi-final second legs and the final if necessary.

The final traditionally takes place at Wembley Stadium in London.

Liverpool celebrate winning the EFL Cup trophy

Carabao Cup 2nd Round Draw

We are already looking forward to the Carabao Cup Round 2 draw which will take place after the conclusion of the Round 1 match between Sheffield Wednesday and Sunderland on Sky Sports Wednesday, 10.8.

Read  Packers' Aaron Rodgers explains why playing just one series in a preseason game 'is a waste of time'

The draw will take place between 21:45 BST (16:45 ET) and 22:00 BST (17:00 ET), depending on whether the game ends in a penalty shootout.

The 35 Round 1 winners are joined by the 13 Premier League clubs not participating in European competition and the two relegated Premier League clubs who finished 18th (Burnley) and 19th (Watford ) landed.

Here are the 43 clubs who have qualified for Round 2 so far:

number of clubs clubs qualified
premium league 13 Aston Villa, Bournemouth, Brentford, Brighton, Crystal Palace, Everton, Fulham, Leeds, Leicester, Newcastle, Nott’m Forest, Southampton, Wolves
championship 4 Burnley, Norwich City, Preston North End, Watford
League One 14 Bolton, Cambridge, Charlton, Derby, Exeter, Fleetwood, Forest Green, Lincoln City, MK Dons, Morecambe, Oxford, Portsmouth, Shrewsbury, Wycombe
league two 12 Barrow, Bradford, Colchester, Crawley, Gillingham, Grimsby, Newport, Rochdale, Stevenage, Stockport, Tranmere, Walsall

MORE: When is the 2022/23 Carabao Cup final?

Results of the 1st round of the Carabao Cup

It was a disastrous Round 1 for Championship clubs, with 12 of the 14 teams in action to date being eliminated outright from the knockout tournament.

And two more will be fought in the remaining games as the two All-Championship bouts are on the schedule.

It is guaranteed that the 3rd tier league one and 4th tier league two will have more representatives than the championship in the 2nd round.

MORE: Overview of the most notable matches of the first round of the Carabao Cup

date Fit time / highlights
Tue, August 2nd CambridgeUnited 1, Millwall 0 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 Shrewsbury 3, Carlise 2 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 black pool 0, carts 0
(Barrow Advance 4-3 pins)
Tue, 9.8 Accrington Stanley 2, trammere 2
(Tranmere advance 12-11 on pins)
Tue, 9.8 AFC Wimbledon 0, Gillingham 2 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 Northampton City 1, Wycombe 2 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 OxfordUnited 2, Swansea 2
(Oxford goes 5-3 after penalty)
Tue, 9.8 Rochdale 2, Burton 0 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 Cheltenham 0, Exeter city 7 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 Charlton 1, Queens Park Ranger 1
(Charlton Advance 5-3 after pens)
Tue, 9.8 Morecambe 0, Stoke-City 0
(Morecambe lead 5-3 on pins)
Tue, 9.8 Mansfield Town 1, Derby County 2 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 Bradford City 2, Hull-City 1 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 Crawley City 1, Bristol Rovers 0 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 Huddersfield 1, Preston north end 4 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 ipswich city 0, colchester 1 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 City of Grimsby 4, crew Alexandra 0 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 Bolton Wanderers 5, Salford City 1 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 Norwich City 2, Birmingham City 2
(Norwich lead 4-2 after penalties)
Tue, 9.8 Harrogate Town 0, Stock port 1
Tue, 9.8 Doncaster 0, Lincoln City 3 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 City of Luton 2, Newport County 3 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 MK Dons 1, Sutton United 0 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 forest green 2, Leyton Orient 0 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 Fleetwood 1, Wigan Athletic 0 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 cardiff city 0, Portsmouth 3 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 wallall 2, Swindon Town 0 HIGHLIGHTS
Tue, 9.8 reading 1, stevenage 2
Wed, 10.08 Coventry City vs Bristol City 19:45 CET / 14:45 ET
Wed, 10.08 Blackburn versus Hartlepool 19:45 CET / 14:45 ET
Wed, 10.08 Plymouth Argyle versus Peterborough 19:45 CET / 14:45 ET
Wed, 10.08 Sheffield Wednesday versus Sunderland 19:45 CET / 14:45 ET
Wed, 10.08 Port Vale vs Rotherham 19:45 CET / 14:45 ET
Wed, 10.08 Middlesbrough versus Barnsley 19:45 CET / 14:45 ET
Thu, 11.8 West Brom vs Sheffield United 20:00 CET / 15:00 ET
Read  IOC hit back at British Government over Russia claiming it would be “end of world sport”

TV channel Carabao Cup, live streams 2022/23

United Kingdom United States of America Canada Australia
TV channel Sky Sports be in sports
stream Sky Go, NOW TV ESPN+ DAZN beIN Connect, Kayo Sports

UNITED KINGDOM: Sky Sports is the UK exclusive broadcaster of the Carabao Cup.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA: ESPN streaming platform ESPN+ is the home of the Carabao Cup in the USA. Selected matches from the early rounds can be streamed, followed by all matches from the round of 16 to the final.

Canada: DAZN has the streaming rights for the Carabao Cup in Canada with selected games from the first round.

Australia: The Carabao Cup broadcaster for fans in Australia is beIN Sports.

Why is it called the Carabao Cup?

The KO tournament has long been known as League Cup or EFL Cup as it is organized by the English Football League which consists of the second tier championship, third tier league one and fourth tier league two.

From the 1990s, sponsors began to associate their name with this tournament and the sponsor names caught on: Coca-Cola Cup, Worthington’s Cup and Carling Cup.

The most recent sponsor is Thai energy drink company Carabao, which bought the title rights to the Knockout tournament from the 2017/18 edition, resulting in the use of the Carabao Cup nickname.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button