Fallon Sherrock, James Wade and Jonny Clayton all bow out on opening night of the Queensland Darts Masters

Fallon Sherrock was eliminated in the first round on day one of the Queensland Darts Masters while James Wade and Jonny Clayton were also eliminated.

The queen of the palace failed to take the World Series Tour by storm this year with just one win from her last three games, and her latest attempt Down Under ended in a 6-3 loss to Australian Gordon Mathers.

Despite landing an impressive 160 checkout, she was only able to average a 73 compared to her opponent’s 79.64, and was generally well below her best.

Gerwyn Price came tantalizingly close to a match-winning nine-darter in his encounter with Damon Heta, but ultimately had to settle for 11 in a 6-5 win, averaging 98.

Michael van Gerwen came back from 4-2 to defeat 20-year-old Bailey Marsh 6-5 and he needs to improve his 85 average significantly if he wants to challenge for the title.

Jonny Clayton suffered a major upset when he lost 6-2 to unheralded New Zealander Haupai Puha.

The Ferret averaged just 86 and missed 13 of his 15 darts in doubles. Puha made him pay with a much more clinical performance, with a 95.59 average and Pin almost half of his doubles.

Simon Whitlock wowed the home crowd with a convincing 6-2 win over James Wade, averaging a very solid 96.

Read  Florida Funders leads Jake Paul's investment round β€’ St Pete Catalyst

Top seed Dimitri Van den Bergh began his bid for a third straight World Series title with a 6-2 win over Perth-based New Zealander Koha Kokiri.

The Belgian, who triumphed in Copenhagen and Zwolle, started the tournament with an impressive 164 checkout and rolled to victory with a 93 average.

Joe Cullen defeated Dave Marland 6-0, his highlight being a bullseye finish that completed a stunning 10-dart leg.

Michael Smith delivered the performance of the day, averaging 104 points in a stunning 6-0 win over Joe Comito.

Queensland Darts Masters: schedule and results

Friday 08/12
First round (Best of 11 Legs)
Evening session (1900 local time, 1000 BST)

  • Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-2 Koha Kokiri
  • Joe Cullen 6-0 Dave Marland
  • Jonny Clayton 2-6 Haupai Puha
  • Fallon Sherrock 3-6 Gordon Mathers
  • James Wade 2-6 Simon Whitlock
  • Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Bailey Marsh
  • Gerwyn Price 6-5 Damon Heta
  • Michael Smith 6-0 Joe Comito

Saturday 08/13
Evening session (1900 local time, 1000 BST)

quarter finals

  • (1) Dimitri Van den Bergh vs. Joe Cullen
  • (4) Michael van Gerwen against Haupai Puha
  • (2) Michael Smith vs. Gordon Mathers
  • Simon Whitlock vs Gerwyn Price
Read  What next for beaten Anthony Joshua? – Sporting Life



Darts: Related Content

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.