close
close
Guide

How to delete TikTok. YF explains

TikTok is the hottest social network out there, but it also has many detractors ranging from lawmakers to the US military. And with a possible ban on the horizon, you might be wondering if you should just kick your TikTok habit now rather than go cold turkey later. However, this requires more than just deleting the app from your phone. If you really want to quit TikTok, you must also delete your account.

Luckily, it’s a relatively painless process, although like other social media companies, the platform will certainly try to make you stay. To finally break your TikTok habit, the first thing you should do is go to your profile page by tapping the profile button on the lower-right corner of the home screen. Select the options menu by pressing the hamburger button at the top right of the screen and tap Settings & Privacy on the pop-up window. Next, press Account, then select Disable or Delete Account and choose Permanently Delete Account.

From there, you can download your old TikTok videos to save offline, or you can just say goodbye to everyone by tapping the confirm button at the bottom of the screen.

Important video moments:

00:00:08 potential TikTok ban

00:00:24 the steps to delete your TikTok account

00:01:07 What happens to your data when you delete TikTok?

Table of Contents

video transcript

DAN HOWLEY: TikTok is the hottest social media network out there. But it also has many critics, ranging from the US military to lawmakers. And with the potential ban on the horizon, you might be wondering if you should try to kick your TikTok habit now rather than go cold turkey later. However, this requires more than just running the app from your phone. If you really want to quit TikTok, you must also delete your account.

Read  How to Manage and Delete Save Data on Your Nintendo Switch

Thankfully, there’s a relatively painless process for doing this. Although, like other social networks, the company is really trying to make you stay. To delete your account you need to go to the main page and then to your profile by tapping the profile button on the bottom right of the screen.

Choose the options menu by tapping the hamburger button or those three horizontal lines in the top-right corner of the screen, then selecting Settings and privacy from the pop-up window. Select next to Account, and then disable or delete the account. And finally delete account permanently.

All your videos will be deleted when you delete your TikTok account, so the company offers you the option to download your old TikToks. However, if you do not want this, click Next. Eventually you will get to the confirmation page. Here, TikTok explains that they keep your data for the next 30 days, and then if you decide to come back, you can easily reactivate your account. But after 30 days everything is gone. Press Next and your TikTok account should be gone.

[MUSIC PLAYING]

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
x