How To Level Up And Ascend Characters In FGO

Quick links

  • How to level your minions

Destiny/Grand Order can offer many challenges to newcomers, and one of the biggest hurdles new players face is understanding how to upgrade their team of minions to overcome the game’s many challenges. Although gameplay is much easier with five-star characters, sourced from the game’s gacha system, most of the game’s story mode can be tackled with three-star servants.

See also: Fate/Grand Order: What is Noble Phantasm Looping and how to do it?

This is especially true as you level them up and use the Ascension system to increase their ranking and viability in encounters. However, this may seem confusing at first, especially if you are unfamiliar with the resource-intensive systems that gacha games often use. Here’s a simple breakdown of all the basic systems for leveling your minions.


How to level your minions

Every minion you get in Fate/Grand Order comes with a set of stats that determine their effectiveness in battleparticularly hp and ATK. These two stats in particular vary greatly depending on the minion’s level, star rank, and class. Every minion starts at level one, regardless of its star ranking, but a level one five-star minion usually has more ATK and HP than a level one three-star minion.

The best way to improve your minion in general is to level them. You have to Go to the Improve section of the menuand then select the option to upgrade a minion.

from here, Select the minion you want to level up, and then click on one of the many slots next to it. At this stage, you can choose cards to use as an EXP source to level up your character.

EXP Cards, Also known as ‘Embers’ in-game, is available in different versions. They are also color-coded and star-coded for easy understanding.

Essentially, Bronze and Silver Embers offer small chunks of experience pointswhile Four or five star Gold or Rainbow Embers offer significantly larger amounts from experience. This distinction is important given the amount of experience required to level up a character scales with the height of their level.

EXP cards can be easily acquired Progress through the game’s main story quests or by completing side quests. EXP cards that match your expected level are usually given as a reward for quest completion.

During level up EXP cards can be shuffled and combined accordingly to increase your character’s level. If your character reaches his max level, don’t worry because that’s not all you can do – You can take them even further with a process known as ascension.

How to level up servants

Many minions can rise from a low three-star character to the power of a five-star character through a process known as rise. This is how you can increase a character’s level cap, greatly improve their potential included. At the highest levels, leveling up a character multiple times also changes their map art and in-game appearance.

In order to level up a unit and increase its level cap, the character must first have reached their maximum level. After that you will find the Ascension menu under the Reinforcements section of the menu.

As with leveling your minion, you can level up your minion by exchanging materials. In many types of ascension you need small chess pieces representing the different classes. These chess pieces can be obtained by progressing the main quest story, as well as daily and weekly missions. The piece you need usually corresponds to the class of the character you are leveling up.

Sometimes additional materials are required for leveling up, especially at higher levels (80-120), such as: Evil Bones. Materials like this can also be found throughout the story, however can also be purchased from Da Vinci using Pure Prisms in the Shop section of the menu.

If you want to skip most of this process and go straight to a character’s best level, you can once with a process called Special Ascension. This instantly gets a character in their best shape without consuming resources like EXP cards or Quantum Pieces.

Your servant’s successful ascension will Increase their level cap, which means you can then level them up again in the usual way with EXP cards. After you reach the maximum attainable Ascension Level (indicated by stars under a character’s level), you can increase a character’s level even further through a process known as Palingenesis.

How to make Palingenese

If you climbed your servant all the way up, then The final step is palingenesis. This allows you Use the Holy Grails you got from progressing the story to raise your character to the highest possible level.

Because of the resources required (holy grails are not often obtained) You should reserve Palingenesis for your absolute best characters. Paligenesis with the right minion can take a character up to level 120 (the current maximum).

However, You have to expend a lot of resources to get to this point, by going through all the previous steps of leveling and ascension and then finally using your holy grails for the palingenesis. If you’ve made it this far, your minion will no doubt be as strong as you need it for most of the main quests.

Next: FGO: Fate/Grand Order Pro Tips You Should Know

Read  Preview, schedule, stars and how to watch

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *