How to Stop YouTube From Tracking Your Activity

Every time you watch a video, leave a comment or click the Like or Dislike button on YouTube, Google stores this information. This data is then used to customize your website experience and show you targeted advertising. If you don’t want YouTube to track your activity, there are a few simple steps you can take to prevent it.


How does YouTube track your activity?

YouTube uses website cookies and other tracking technologies to collect information about your activity on the website. This includes information such as the videos you watch, the comments you leave, the ads you click, and more. This information helps customize your experience and show you targeted advertising.

You may have noticed that when you watch a video on YouTube, you then see related videos. This is because YouTube uses your activity data to show you content it thinks may interest you.

Also, if you see an ad on YouTube, that’s because YouTube thinks you’re a good target for that particular product or service. A judgment based in turn on your activity data.

If you prefer not to have your activity tracked by YouTube, you must do so.

How to stop YouTube from tracking your activity

You can disable YouTube’s activity tracking feature on any device that you use to access it. The following steps will show you how.

  1. Open the YouTube app and sign in to your account (if you haven’t already).
  2. Tap your profile picture in the top right corner of the screen.
  3. Select from the menu Your data in YouTube.
  4. Under the YouTube controls section, tap Manage your YouTube watch history.
  5. Tap the controls Header and tap the Turn off Button.
  6. Confirm that you want to stop saving your YouTube history by tapping Break.

You can also delete your existing YouTube watch history by tapping Delete old activity after pausing your history. This will remove any videos you’ve watched from your YouTube history.

These steps apply to the YouTube app on Android and iOS devices. The steps may be slightly different on other devices, but the overall process should be similar. Just look out for the appropriate options.

Should You Disable YouTube’s Activity Tracking Feature?

Like clearing your YouTube search history, turning off activity trackers can be beneficial if you’re concerned about your privacy or want to prevent targeted ads. However, it has its downsides. Here are some pros and cons to consider before turning off activity tracking:

Advantages:

  • You won’t see as many targeted ads because YouTube doesn’t have data about your interests.
  • YouTube doesn’t save your activity, so you can watch videos without worrying about your watch history.
  • You can still watch videos and use YouTube normally. You just won’t be followed.

Disadvantages:

  • YouTube can’t personalize your experience as much because it doesn’t contain data about your activities.
  • You keep seeing ads. However, you may see more generic ads because YouTube doesn’t know what you’re interested in.
  • If you watch a lot of videos on YouTube, it can be annoying to manually delete your history over and over again.

Turn off tracking or don’t turn off tracking?

Whether or not you opt out of tracking on YouTube is up to you. If you’re concerned about your privacy, it’s probably a good idea to turn off activity tracking.

However, you can leave tracking turned on if you don’t mind seeing targeted ads or if you want YouTube to customize your experience. Ultimately it is your decision.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *