How to watch, who’s playing in Canada’s national championship

This week, the CP Women’s Open returns to the LPGA schedule for the first time since 2019 after being canceled for the past two years due to logistical challenges related to the coronavirus pandemic.

Canada’s national championship will be held at the Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club, where the top seven players on the Rolex Rankings – and 12 of the top 13 – will compete for the $2,350,000 prize pool. At the top is the number 1 in the world Jin Young Koaiming to defend her 2019 title against the likes of reigning US Women’s Open champion and world No. 2 Minjee LeeCanada’s own Brooke Henderson – already a two-time winner this season, including the Evian Championship – and No. 3 in the world Nelly Kordawho clinched her first win of 2022 just last week at the Aramco Team Series of the Ladies European Tour in Sotogrande, Spain.

The origins of the CP Women’s Open date back to 1973 when it was then known as the du Maurier Classic and was considered a major championship (from 1979 to 2000). The AIG Women’s Open replaced du Maurier as the major in 2001, but Canada continues to host the historic tournament. Lydia Ko has the most wins at this event with three (2012-2013, 2015), while Mega Mallon is the only other multiple champion (2002, 2004).

How to watch the 2022 CP Women’s Open

Coverage of the 2022 CP Women’s Open from the Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club in Ottawa, Canada can be found on Golf Channel and CBS, with streaming options available anytime on any mobile device and online via and the NBC Sports App are.

  • Thursday, August 25: 9:30-12:30 p.m. ET, Golf Channel
  • Friday, August 26: 9:30-12:30 p.m. ET, Golf Channel
  • Saturday, August 27th: 2:30-5:00 p.m. ET, Golf Channel
  • Sunday 28 August: 12:30-1:30 p.m. ET, Golf Channel (streaming); 1:30-3:30 p.m. ET, CBS

Who is playing at the CP Women’s Open 2022?

In addition to the top players in the Rolex Rankings, the field will also include seven previous winners of this event, as well as 13 winners – including all five major champions – of the 2022 LPGA Tour:

  • Jin Young KoChampion 2019
  • Brooke HendersonChampion 2018, Winner of the Evian Championship 2022
  • Sung Hyun ParkChampion 2017
  • Ariya JutanugarnChampion 2016
  • So Yeon-ryuChampion 2014
  • Lydia KoChampion 2012, 2013 and 2015
  • Cristi KerrChampion 2006
  • Minjee Lee2022 US Women’s Open Champion
  • Jennifer Kucho2022 Chevron Championship Winner
  • In Gee ChunWinner of the 2022 KPMG Women’s PGA Championship
  • Ashleigh Buhai2022 AIG Women’s Open Champion

Danielle Kang, who retired from the tour in June to treat a tumor she said was diagnosed on her spine, will make her first start since the US Women’s Open. The tournament will also honor Canadians Lorie Kanea four-time LPGA winner who will contest her 30th and final CP Women’s Open this week.

Read  How to see YouTube comment history

Most recently at the CP Women’s Open

A 24 year old Jin Young Ko won her fourth title of the season and sixth of her LPGA career at the 2019 CP Women’s Open. Ko finished with an 8-under 64 to hold the course record and finished the regulation with 26-under 262, five strokes ahead of Denmark Nicole Broch Larsen and seven better than Brooke Henderson and american Lizette Salaswho also shot 64 on Sunday.

Ko went into the final round level on points with Larsen, and she pulled away thanks to six birdies on her last nine holes. Remarkably, Ko became the first winner since Inbee Park at the 2015 HSBC Women’s World Championship to play 72 holes without a bogey.

More about Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club

Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club, which will play a par-72 at 6,709 yards, has previously hosted the PGA Tour’s Canadian Open and the LPGA’s du Maurier Classic. This year it will host the CP Women’s Open for the third time (2008, 2017).

Founded in 1908 as a hunting club, the club expanded into golf in 1919, becoming a two-time Open champion and renowned golf course architect Willie Park Jr. was commissioned to design the first 18 holes, now known as the South and West Nines.

Catherine Hull won the 2008 tournament and batted Se Ri Pak with one hit. 2017, Sung Hyun Park won the title after also winning the US Women’s Open that same summer.

NBC’s golf research team contributed to this report.

FROM YOUR TURF, TOO: 2022 WNBA Playoffs Schedule, Results, Scores, TV Details and More

Read  How it really feels to exit your startup — and how to move on

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *