iHeartMedia Celebrates The Best in Podcasting During The Fifth Annual iHeartPodcast Awards Hosted by Comedian Brian Baumgartner

“Las Culturistas” takes home the coveted Podcast of the Year award presented by Autonomy

Emmy-winning sportscaster Bob Costas opens the 2023 iHeartPodcast Awards show

Special guest presenters included Jason Alexander, Charlamagne Tha God, Zach Braff and Donald Faison, Will Arnett, Mayim Bialik, Angela Yee, Malcolm Gladwell and more

NEW YORK, March 15, 2023–(BUSINESS WIRE)–Tonight, the Fifth Annual iHeartPodcast Awards, hosted by actor and comedian Brian Baumgartner, brought together the most influential names in podcasting to honor the most entertaining and innovative podcasts of 2022 and the incredible talent and Celebrate the great diversity of leaders across the podcast industry. The virtual awards ceremony was streamed exclusively via video on iHeartRadio’s YouTube channel and Facebook page, and was broadcast nationally on iHeartMedia radio stations and via the iHeartRadio app.

The night featured a variety of performances from award winners, celebrity presenters and special guests, including Jason Alexander And Peter Tilden, Jason Bateman, Sean Hayes And Will Arnett, Mayim Bialik, Alex Borstein, and Zach Braff And Donald Faison, Nicole Byer, Charlamagne Tha God, Colin Cowherd, Bob Costas, Malcolm Gladwell, Draymond Green, Bethany Joy Lenz, Matt Rogers And Bowen Yang, Enrique Santos, Iliza Shlesinger, Questlove, and Angela Yee and more.

Highlights of the 2023 iHeartPodcast Awards event include:

  • Jason Alexander and Peter Tilden presented “Las Culturistas” the most coveted award of the night, voted by the fans themselves, Podcast of the Year presented by Autonomy, to Matt Rogers and Bowen Yang, who thanked Marc Maron and Snookie for paving the way in podcasting.

  • Host Brian Baumgartner entertained one lucky viewer all night with hilarious skits about chili, celery and broken bones and of course podcasts.

  • Charlamagne Tha God presented the Best Music Podcast of the Year award to Questlove, host of Questlove Supreme.

  • Zach Braff and Donald Faison honor Nicole Byer as the host of Why Won’t You Date Me for Best Comedy Podcast of the Year.

  • Will Arnett joined as a special guest host to honor Sarah Marshall, host of You’re Wrong About, with the award for Best History Podcast of the Year.

  • Mayim Bialik presented “Believer Her” host Justine van der Leun with the award for best crime podcast and spoke about how true crime podcasts have helped exonerate wrongfully incarcerated people.

  • Angela Yee presented the Audible Audio Pioneer Icon Award to technology journalist and podcaster Kara Swisher, who shared the importance of transforming and changing with the times and venturing into the great unknown.

  • Colin Cowherd stopped by to present the Best Sports Podcast of the Year award to host Draymond Green (The Draymond Green Show), who spoke about the importance of authenticity.

  • Bethany Joy Lenz introduced the Innovator Icon Award, presented by Planet Oat Oatmilk, presented to Ashley Flowers from Crime Junkie.

  • Alex Borstein (Family Guy, Marvelous Mrs. Maisel) presented Nicole Byer with her second iHeartPodcast Award of the Night for Best Overall Host.

  • Comedian Iliza Shlesinger presented SmartLess’ Jason Bateman, Sean Hayes and Will Arnett with the new show category Best Overall Ensemble.

Read  37 best Netflix movies coming in 2022

The full list of iHeartPodcast Awards 2023 winners is:

Social Impact Icon Award: dr Laurie Santos and Dr. Joy Harden Bradford
Audible Audio Pioneer Icon Award: Kara Swisher
Innovator Icon Award, presented by Planet Oat Oat Milk: Ashley flowers

podcast of the year, presented by autonomy

New! Best overall ensemble:

Best Economics and Finance Podcast:

Best Comedy Podcast:

Best Crime Podcast:

Best Pop Culture Podcast:

Best Food Podcast:

Best Wellness and Fitness Podcast:

Best History Podcast:

Best Kids & Family Podcast:

Best Music Podcast:

Best News Podcast:

Best Fiction Podcast:

Best Sports Podcast:

Best Science Podcast:

Best Technology Podcast:

Best Ad Read Podcast:

Best Host Overall:

Best Political Podcast:

Best TV and Film Podcast:

Best Spanish Language Podcast:

Best Advice & Inspirational Podcast:

Best Beauty & Fashion Podcast:

Best Travel Podcast:

Best Green Podcast:

Best Podcast on Spirituality and Religion:

Best Brand Podcast:

Best Emerging Podcast:

Best International Podcast:

The 2023 iHeartPodcast Awards are part of iHeartMedia’s roster of nationally recognized events, including the iHeartRadio Music Awards, iHeartRadio Music Festival, iHeartRadio Jingle Ball Concert Tour nationwide, iHeartRadio Fiesta Latina, iHeartCountry Festival, iHeartRadio ALTer Ego and iHeartRadio Wango Tango.

The 2023 iHeartPodcast Awards are executive producers John Sykes, Tom Poleman, Conal Byrne and Bart Peters for iHeartMedia, along with Deviants Media Studio founder Ivan Dudynsky and showrunner Jayson Belt. Proud sponsors of this year’s event include Audible, Autonomy, Planet Oat Oatmilk and Progressive Insurance. Visit for more information.

Editor’s note:

Access photos from the virtual event Here.
W: iH Podcast_23!

Read  Hamilton 'didn't pick best words' - but Mercedes 'needs a kick'

Click HERE to download the official iHeartPodcast Awards 2023 logo.

About iHeartMedia

iHeartMedia, Inc. [Nasdaq: IHRT] is the leading audio media company in America, reaching over 90% of Americans every month. iHeart’s radio shows alone have greater consumer reach in the US than any other media company; twice the reach of the next largest broadcaster; and more than four times the advertiseable reach of the largest all-digital audio service. iHeart is the largest podcast publisher, according to Podtrac, with more downloads than the next two podcast publishers combined, and has the largest social footprint among audio players, with seven times more followers than the next audio media brand and the only fully integrated audio -Advertising tech solution for broadcast, streaming and podcasts. The company continues to leverage its strong audience engagement and unparalleled consumer reach to build new platforms, products and services. Visit for more company information.

View source version on


Jenn Powers, [email protected]

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button