Isobel Cup Championship 2023: Time, TV channel, live stream for Minnesota vs. Toronto PHF final

It’s Championship Sunday for the Premier Hockey Federation.

The 2023 Isobel Cup playoffs conclude today as the Minnesota Whitecaps take on the Toronto Six in the Women’s Pro Hockey League championship game.

Minnesota defeated the Boston Pride in their semifinal series, knocking out the reigning two-time Isobel Cup champions. Jonna Albers fueled the offense with a hat-trick in Game 1 and then a goal and an assist in the deciding game.

Toronto defeated the Connecticut Whale in their three-game semifinal series. After dropping Game 1, the Six fought back in Games 2 and 3 to avoid elimination and holed their ticket to the club’s first-ever Championship appearance.

The Six have never won the Isobel Cup as the franchise is in its third season with the league. Meanwhile, the Whitecaps are aiming for their first title since 2019.

NHL PLAYOFF PICTURE: Updated standings, brackets, fixtures and important dates for the 2022-23 season

The Sporting News have updated fans on how to follow the 2023 Isobel Cup Championship.

When will the 2023 Isobel Cup Championship take place?

  • Date: Sunday March 26th
  • Time: 9 p.m. ET

The 2023 Isobel Cup Championship takes place on Sunday 26th March.

The puck drop is expected to occur at 9:00 p.m. ET, 6:00 p.m. local time in Arizona.

What channel is the Isobel Cup Championship 2023 on?

  • TV channel: ESPN2 (US) | TSN5 (Canada)
  • Live broadcast: ESPN+ (US) |, TSN App (Canada)
Read  NOS Sport directors resign over transgressive behavior reports; Hotline head steps down

The 2023 Isobel Cup Championship can be followed in the US on ESPN2. In Canada it will be broadcast on TSN5.

For those looking to stream the event, American audiences can find the action on ESPN+. In Canada, fans can live stream the game on or on the TSN app.

Where is the 2023 Isobel Cup Championship?

The 2023 Isobel Cup Championship will be held at Mullett Arena in Tempe, Arizona, home of the NHL’s Arizona Coyotes.

This is the first time the PHF has played its title game at an NHL venue. Last year, the league partnered with Lightning for the 2022 championship, however the game was played at the AdventHealth Center Ice in Wesley Chapel, Florida.

What is the Premier Hockey Federation?

The Premier Hockey Federation, or PHF for short, is one of the premier women’s professional hockey leagues in North America.

The women’s league enters its eighth season and second, named PHF. It was formerly known as the National Women’s Hockey League or NWHL before the 2021 name change.

The league was founded by Dani Rylan, a former ice hockey player and entrepreneur. The estimated operating budget for the league was $2.5 million, according to ESPN’s Pat Borzi as of March 2015.

The PHF was the first women’s pro hockey league to pay its players.

What is the Isobel Cup?

The Isobel Cup is the league’s championship trophy. It is awarded to the winner of the Isobel Cup Playoffs at the end of the season.

The trophy, which goes by the full name of Lady Isobel Gathorne-Hardy Cup, was first awarded in 2016 during the NWHL’s inaugural season. Most recently, Boston Pride has won back-to-back Isobel Cups and has three championship wins in total.

Read  F1 Manager 2022 showcases regulation changes and on-the-fly strategy calls

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button