NASCAR at Watkins Glen results: Kyle Larson nabs second straight victory at the Glen

Love is never lost in the Glen.

Hendrick Motorsports has two of the best drivers in the game in Kyle Larson and Chase Elliott. The 2021 and 2020 Cup Series champions have claimed checkered flag after checkered flag over the course of the last few seasons.

But racing is a zero-sum game. And as important as it is to nurture relationships between teammates, there’s nothing like feeling like you’re on the road to victory.

With Elliott firmly ahead deep in the final stages, Larson took a step forward. He took pole position from his team-mate Elliott and didn’t resist, taking his second win in as many years at the Watkins Glen road circuit.

MORE: Watch NASCAR Cup Series Races Live With fuboTV (Free Trial)

It was a move that seemingly angered Elliott, who played it shyly after Sunday’s race. Larson offered some apologies for his decision to pass Elliott after a race restart. But it’s all about winning at NASCAR. And sometimes that leads to riders stepping on a few toes.

It was a hectic end to a hectic day in the Glen. Sunday’s race was originally scheduled for 3:00 p.m. ET, but a long weather delay meant the green flag was not officially waved until around 5:00 p.m. ET.

Nevertheless, it was an exciting event full of twists and turns. And at the end of the day, it was Larson who reveled in gushing torrents.

He wouldn’t want it any other way.

The Sporting News followed live updates and highlights from Sunday’s race at Watkins Glen. Watch all the action as it unfolded below:

NASCAR at Watkins Glen updates, highlights from Go Bowling at the Glen

(All times Easter)

7:20 p.m.: And it’s Larson who takes the checkered flag! The 18th win of his Cup Series career. What a racing performance from the reigning Cup Series Champion!

Read  NHL trade tracker: From Patrick Kane, Timo Meier & Dmitry Orlov, full list of deals completed before deadline

7:15 p.m.: Larson and AJ Allmendinger stormed past Elliott! It’s a hectic end here in the Glen! Unreal stuff so far!

7:05 p.m.: Restarting the race, Elliott Larson holds back. It looks like Elliott is in position for a fifth checkered flag of the season!

6:45 p.m.: That’s another warning flag, this time for Joey Hand! We’re heading for a restart of the race!

6:20 p.m.: Elliott takes back the lead with 40 laps to go! The Glen is under pressure!

6:16 p.m.: To add insult to injury, Raikonen appears to have been sidelined for the remainder of the race following his wreck. Bad stuff.

6:15 p.m.: And that is a warning flag! It looks like Austin Dillon and Kimi Raikonen collided early in Stage 3. Bad luck for Raikonen who competed in his first ever Cup Series race today. Hopefully there will be more options for the F1 driver.

6:00 p.m.: Team Penske’s Joey Logano takes the green flag of stage two! He is followed by Kyle Busch, McDowell, Elliott, Ty Dillon and Joey Hand.

5:55 p.m.: Gilliland is done for the day after suffering an axle problem halfway through stage two. Unfortunate situation for Gilliland, who showed some lightning during his time on track at Watkins Glen.

5:50 p.m.: It’s been a very close affair at the Glen so far. Kyle Larson sits pretty far behind the likes of McDowell, Elliott and Buescher. It looks like a game of cat and mouse is going on between Larson’s crew to figure out how best to approach racing going forward.

5:35 p.m.: With the results of the first leg, Elliott had won the Cup Series regular-season title. What a year for the Hendrick Motorsports star!

Read  Which NBA players have Nike shoe contracts? LeBron James, Kyrie Irving lead signature athletes

17:30: Briscoe takes the green flag! He is followed by Reddick, Daniel Suarez and Todd Gilliland, among others.

5:24 p.m.: And that’s a mistake by Reddick! He missed his turn and received a penalty as a result. He now sits in fourth place, eight seconds off Chase Briscoe’s peak form.

5:20 p.m.: McDowell is the first to relent, giving up his lead on Reddick to get some clever riders on his whip. Reddick leads with seven rounds remaining in Phase 1.

5:17 p.m.: McDowell making it look easy on the smooth surface. He continues to keep Reddick at bay, holding an era of nearly 0.25 seconds.

5:13 p.m.: Nine laps down and it was all McDowell and Reddick. The pair continued to jostle between positions, with McDowell holding a slight 0.3 second lead over the Richard Childress Racing product.

5:09 p.m.: On a slippery track, it was Michael McDowell and Tyler Reddick who kept their respective nerves. McDowell and Reddick lead for the first six laps.

There is still a lot of racing left but it seems like the two drivers are giving it their all on the track.

4:58 p.m.: And we’re going to Watkins Glen!

4:11 p.m.: After a long weather delay, the racers are finally on the track. The action is about to begin at Watkins Glen.

NASCAR start time today

  • Start time: 4 p.m. ET
  • TV channel: United States (United States) | TSN2 (Canada)
  • Live broadcast: Peacock, fuboTV
  • Radio: MRN Radio, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio

Sunday’s race was scheduled to start at 3:00 p.m. ET. However, a prolonged weather delay pushed the start time back by more than an hour. The green flag is now scheduled to be waved at around 5:00 p.m. ET.

Go Bowling at the Glen airs in the United States on the US network. Canadian viewers can follow the action on TSN2.

Rick Allen will lead the race from lap to lap. He will be joined by NASCAR Hall of Famer Dale Earnhardt Jr., NASCAR Cup Series veteran Jeff Burton and Daytona 500 crew chief Steve Letarte.

Read  Al Masaood joins hands with the UAE Winter Sports Federation to support National Women’s Ice Hockey Team

Cord cutters will find Go Bowling at the Glen on Peacock or fuboTV which offers a free trial.

Starting grid for the race at Watkins Glen

Elliott will lead the way on Sunday. Watkins Glen has historically been more of a special place for Elliott; Elliott has had three top-three finishes at the track, including two wins – the first of which was his first-ever Cup Series win in 2018.

He will try to keep up the good times on the legendary road circuit once more.

Here is the full starting lineup for Sunday Go Bowling at The Glen:

start pos. driver car no team
1 Chase Eliot 9 Henrik Motorsport
2 Kyle Larson 5 Henrik Motorsport
3 Michael McDowell 34 Motorsport in the front row
4 William Byron 24 Henrik Motorsport
5 Tyler Reddick 8th Richard Childress Racing
6 AJ Allmendinger 16 Kaulig Racing
7 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing
8th Austin Cinderic 2 Team Penke
9 Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse race
10 Kyle Bush 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
11 Alex Bowman 48 Henrik Motorsport
12 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
13 Justin Haley 31 Kaulig Racing
14 Hunt Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas race
fifteen Brad Keselowski 6 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing
16 Ty Gibbs 45 Joe Gibbs Racing
17 joey hand fifteen Rick Ware Racing
18 Ross Chastain 1 Trackhouse race
19 death Gilland 38 Motorsport in the front row
20 Joey Logano 22 Team Penke
21 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
22 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
23 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI race
24 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas race
25 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
26 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penke
27 Kimi Raikkonen 91 Trackhouse race
28 Ty Dillon 42 Small GMS Motorsports
29 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas race
30 Harrison Burton 21 Wood Brothers race
31 Eric Jones 43 Small GMS Motorsports
32 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsport
33 Mike Rockenfeller 77 Spire Motorsport
34 Loris Hezemans 27 Team Hezeberg
35 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas race
36 Daniel Kvyat 26 Team Hezeberg
37 Kyle Tilley 78 Live fast motorsport
38 Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
39 CodyWare 51 Rick Ware Racing

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button