Rowe goes three in a row in Sebring race two with latest USFP2000 win

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Pabst Racing’s Myles Rowe has now won three of the first four races of the 2023 USF Pro 2000 season after being victorious at Sebring on Saturday.

Michael d’Orlando and Francesco Pizzi started ahead of Rowe on the grid but he went into both on the first lap at turn one to take a lead he wasn’t about to give up.

He was over five seconds ahead of the field on lap 10 when the pace car came out because Lindsay Brewer was spinning and stranded on some curbs, then escaped the pressure at the restart before a second yellow period began late in the lap, as Jordan Missig did problems in turn three.

The pace car led the field until the 15th and final lap and this time, despite a strong restart, Rowe made a mistake as he wobbled mid-corner at turn one, allowing Lirim Zendeli to attack him at turn three. However, he held on to a championship win that extended the lead.

D’Orlando lost his chance for second place on lap two when he reversed the order and Zendeli moved up to second after already passing Pizzi for third on lap one.

Zendeli only came under pressure for this position in the last two corners of the race, before that there was a fight for third place.

Kiko Porto passed Pizzi on the outside of the final corner on lap two to take position, then on the next lap Salvador de Alba passed both of them on the inside of turn one.

Read  Fed emergency lending to banks boosted overall Fed holdings in latest week

Porto reclaimed third place on lap five and Pizzi tried to follow him past de Alba early in lap six but failed to do so and was instead cautioned for blocking Jace Denmark behind him.

Pizzi was then overtaken by Denmark and Reece Ushijima and spent the rest of his time battling Jordan Missig while dropping further places ahead of the first yellow period.

Porto and de Alba again battled for third place in the restart as Ushijima edged out Denmark in fifth before yellow flags were waved again. Denmark dropped out of the third-place fight at the restart on the final lap after going slow, with Pabst team-mate Missig slowing even more and failing to finish, while Porto created a gap and almost weakened Zendeli in the penultimate corner .

Ushijima finished fourth, and a four-way battle down the backstretch moved Jackson Lee to fifth, sending Joel Granfors back a couple of places to ninth and helping d’Orlando recover to 11th.

Race result (15 laps)
position driver team Time
1 Myles Rowe Pope Racing 37m52.317s
2 Lirim Zendeli TJ speed +1.007s
3 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing +1.045s
4 Reece Ushijima JHDD +2.997s
5 Jackson Lee Turn 3 Motorsport +4.414s
6 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsport +4.663s
7 Franz Pizzi TJ speed +5.126s
8th Jonathan Brown Turn 3 Motorsport +5.363s
9 Joel Granfors Exclusive motorsport +5.706s
10 Ricardo Escotto JHDD +5.957s
11 Michael d’Orlando Turn 3 Motorsport +6.051s
12 Bijoy Garg DEForce Racing +6.236s
13 Christian Weir TJ speed +6.431s
14 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Exclusive motorsport +6,968s
15 Nicholas Monteiro NeoTech Motorsport +7.586s
16 Salvador de Alba Exclusive motorsport +9.874s
17 Jace Denmark Pope Racing +1 round
18 Lindsay Brewer Exclusive motorsport +1 round
pension Jordan Missing Pope Racing
Fastest lap: Rowe, 1:59.934s

Championship Stand
1 Row 116 2 postage 74 3 pizza 74 4 Zendel 64 5 Denmark 64th 6 Granfor’s 63 7 Ushijima 49 8th Christian Bach 47 9 Mueller 44 10 brown 42

Read  Suspected Chinese spy balloon latest


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button