Tottenham trophies won: When did Spurs last lift silverware?

Tottenham’s hunt for silverware has been well documented over the past decade as the club have become regular trophy contenders in England and Europe.

While Spurs wintered as a midfield side for most of the 1990s, they broke through in the early 2000s as a consistent club in the top half of the year and, starting in 2010 with a fourth-place finish, began consistently competing for European places.

Since that breakthrough, Spurs have finished no lower than seventh in the Premier League.

Still, they have eluded modern silverware as the club continue to seek a major title. Antonio Conte’s side could change that in 2023 with a chance for FA Cup and Champions League glory.

The Sporting News covers the club’s trophy record below.

MORE: Is Harry Kane staying at Tottenham?

When was the last time Tottenham won a trophy?

Spurs have won silver in the past, but it’s been some time. The last trophy won by the club is the 2008 League Cup (Carling Cup, later called Carabao Cup) which beat Chelsea 2-1 in the final after extra time.

Goals from Dimitar Berbatov and Jonathan Woodgate pushed Spurs through in the game, with the latter going into four minutes of extra time. Notable names in Spurs’ line-up for the game included Jermaine Jenas and Robbie Keane, captained by Ledley King and England international Paul Robinson in goal. They beat the likes of Petr Cech, Didier Drogba and Frank Lampard, all of whom started the game for Chelsea.

Read  Paddington Heads Cartier Standings | Sporting Post

Spurs beat Middlesbrough, Blackpool and Manchester City 2-0 ahead of the final. They then defeated north London rivals Arsenal in the semi-finals. Spurs drew 1-1 at the Emirates ahead of the crucial second leg, a 5-1 win that saw them lead 6-2 on aggregate.

What trophies have Tottenham won?

Before EFL Cup victory in 2007/08, Spurs racked up a string of competitive victories, but most are a while back.

Tottenham won an FA Cup in 1991, beating Roy Keane and Nottingham Forest 2-1 in the final and also in extra time. Terry Venables was in charge and chose Gary Lineker to start up front for Spurs, but the winner came through an own goal when Des Walker put the ball in his own net.

The last league title dates back to 1961 when Sheffield Wednesday, Wolverhampton Wanderers, Burnley and Everton completed the top five.

Tottenham Hotspur trophies

Competition season runner up
First division 1950/51
ManUnited (by 4 points)
Sheff. Wednesday (by 8 points)
Second division 1919/20
Huddersfield Town (by 6 points)
Sheff. Wednesday (by 9 points)
FA Cup 1900/01
Sheff. United (3-1 in last replay)
Wolverhamton (1-0 in the final)
Leicester City (2-0 in the final)
Burnley (3-1 in the final)
Chelsea (2-1 in the final)
Man City (3-2 in the final)
QPR (1-0 in final)
Nottingham Forest (2-1 in the final)
League Cup
(EFL Cup)
Aston Villa (2-0 in the final)
Norwich City (1-0 in the final)
Leicester City (1-0 in the final)
Chelsea (2-1, in the final)
(European League)
Wolverhampton (3-2 over)
Anderlecht (2-2 agg., 4-3 PKs)
Read  Insider Selling: Big 5 Sporting Goods Co. (NASDAQ:BGFV) VP Sells 5,250 Shares of Stock

How many finals have Spurs reached?

In addition to the 14 cup victories listed above, Spurs have also come tantalizingly close to winning silverware on several other occasions.

In fact, Tottenham have had a string of tight decisions lately, losing in the EFL Cup final three times since they last lifted the trophy in 2008. Most recently, Spurs lost to Manchester City in the 2021 final, falling 1-0 thanks to a goal from defender Aymeric Laporte. Spurs also lost in the 2015 edition and the 2009 final.

In the FA Cup, Spurs were extremely successful in reaching the final. They lost only once, in 1987, while winning the competition the other eight times, they reached the final.

Tottenham also famously lost to Liverpool in the 2019 UEFA Champions League final, losing 2-0 on the club’s first foray that deep in the tournament round.

Tottenham is second

Competition season champion
First division
(First League)
Liverpool (by 6 points)
ManUnited (by 4 points)
ManUnited (by 8 points)
Everton (by 6 points)
Chelsea (by 7 points)
Second division 1908-09
Bolton Wanderers (by 1 point)
Stoke City (by 1 point)
FA Cup 1986-87 Coventry City (3-2 in the final)
League Cup 1981-82
Liverpool (3-1 in the final)
Blackburn (2-1 in the final)
Man United (0-0 aet, 4-1 PK)
Chelsea (2-0 in the final)
Manchester City (1-0 in the final)
UEFA Champions League 2018-19 Liverpool (2-0 in the final)
UEFA Cup 1973-74 Feyenoord (4-2 over)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button