2022/23 Women’s U17 EURO round 2 latest: Sweden, Spain, England, Poland qualify | Women’s Under-17

The second round of the UEFA European Under-17 Women’s Championship runs until 30 March, with Sweden, Spain, England and Poland making up the top four of seven sides who, alongside hosts Estonia, have secured their place in the finals from 14-26 May will book. Promotion and relegation between the leagues is also at stake.

The composition of the two leagues was decided by round 1 in the fall. Estonia took part in Round 2, but in any case secured a place in the final as hosts.

League A consists of 28 teams, including the seven promoted teams from League B. The seven eventual group winners qualify for the finals. Teams finishing fourth are relegated to League B for Round 1 2023/24.

The 20 teams in League B, including those relegated from League A in the fall, are fighting for promotion.


League A

Group A1 (complete)
Qualified for the final: Poland
Also staying in League A: Romania*, Czech Republic
Transfer to League B: Estonia (final tournament hosts)

Group A2 (complete)
Qualified for the final: England
Also staying in League A: Belgium, Norway
Transfer to League B: Croatia*

Group A3 (March 23-29): Germany (holders), Portugal*, Hungary, North Macedonia

Group A4 (March 17-23): Switzerland, Slovenia*, Austria, Slovakia

Group A5 (March 23-29): Republic of Ireland, France*, Italy, Kosovo

Group A6 (complete)
Qualified for the final: Spain
Also staying in League A: Denmark, Belarus
Transfer to League B: Serbia*

Group A7 (complete)
Qualified for the final: Sweden
Also staying in League A: Netherlands*, Finland
Transfer to League B: Wales

*Group hosts

  • The seven group winners qualify for the finals with hosts Estonia.
  • The teams finishing fourth in each group are relegated to League B for Round 1 2023/24.
  • Sweden have qualified for the first time since runners-up in 2012/13, the last four-team finals.
  • Poland have made it only the second time since defeating Sweden in the 2012/13 final, having also qualified in 2017/18.
  • England are in their ninth finals.
  • Four-time champions Spain, runners-up last season but then winners of the FIFA U-17 World Cup for the second consecutive year, have now qualified for 12 out of 14 editions, nine in a row.
  • Germany beat Spain in the 2021/22 final to claim their eighth title from the past 13 editions.
  • Besides Germany, the only other former champions are Spain and Poland.
  • France beat Italy 4-2 in Round 1.
  • Croatia, Hungary, Kosovo, North Macedonia, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia all want to join Estonia in the finals.

League B

Group B1 (March 24-30): Greece, Faroe Islands, Lithuania*, Moldova

Group B2 (March 22-28): Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Montenegro

Group B3 (Competition)
Promotion to League A: Scotland*
Second: Israel
Also in the group: Georgia

Group B4 (March 15-21): Iceland, Luxembourg, Albania*

Group B5 (March 24-30): Northern Ireland, Türkiye*, Armenia

Group B6 (complete)
Promotion to League A: Ukraine
Second: Bulgaria*
Also in the group: Latvia

*Group hosts

  • The group winners and runners-up with the best record against first- and third-place finishers in their group advance to League A for Round 1 2023/24.
How the leagues were formed in Round 1

League A

Group winner round 1: Czech Republic (Group A1), Spain (A2), Republic of Ireland (A3), Switzerland (A4), Germany (A5, holders), England (A6), Netherlands (A7)

Round 1 group runners-up: Norway (A1), Poland (A2), Finland (A3), France (A4), Slovenia (A5), Denmark (A6), Portugal (A7)

Round 1 third in group: Hungary (A1), Belgium (A2), Austria (A3), Italy (A4), Serbia (A5), Estonia (A6, final tournament hosts), Sweden (A7)

Promoted from League B: Belarus, Croatia, Kosovo (best runners-up), North Macedonia, Romania, Slovakia, Wales

League B

Relegated from League A: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Greece, Iceland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Türkiye, Ukraine

Round 2 group runners-up: Luxembourg (B1), Faroe Islands (B3), Latvia (B4), Israel (B5), Kazakhstan (B6)

Round 2 group third: Armenia (B1), Albania (B2), Bulgaria (B3), Azerbaijan (B4), Montenegro (B5), Lithuania (B6)

Round 2 group fourth place: Georgia (B1), Moldova (B2)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *