2022 F1 Belgian GP – How to watch, session timings and more

After almost a full month’s hiatus, F1 resumes after the summer break at Spa-Francorchamps, starting a series of nine races over the next three months to conclude the 2022 season.

Max Verstappen’s lead in the F1 World Drivers’ Championship is 80 points after his win at the last Hungarian GP, ​​coupled with a strategic mistake by Ferrari that saw Charles Leclerc slip to sixth place.

PLUS: The elements Ferrari must solve to first save face and then win championships

Mercedes will aim to maintain its form ahead of the summer break as it clinched pole and a double podium at the Hungaroring, while all teams will focus on how the pecking order will be shaken up by the new porpoise and flexi floor rules coming from the GP Belgium.

Away from the track, it’s the first time the F1 paddock has reunited since the bombshell news that Fernando Alonso will join Aston Martin to replace the retiring Sebastian Vettel for 2023.

PLUS: The traits that fueled Alonso’s unexpected move to Aston Martin

All eyes will be on Alpine, who had declared Oscar Piastri Alonso’s replacement, only for the Australian to turn down the announcement, and McLaren, who are expected to secure Daniel Ricciardo to replace Daniel Ricciardo in the team’s F1 driver line-up from next year .

Alonso is grilled by the media after his Aston move was announced after the Hungarian GP

Alonso is grilled by the media after his Aston move was announced after the Hungarian GP

Photo by: Steven Tee / Motorsport Images

Full session times for the 2022 Belgian GP

Friday 26 August 2022

Free practice 1: 1pm-2pm BST (2pm-3pm local)
Free Practice 2: 4pm-5pm BST (5pm-6pm local)

Saturday 27 August 2022

Free Practice 3: 12pm-1pm BST (1pm-2pm local)
Qualification: 3pm-4pm BST (4pm-5pm local)

Sunday 28 August 2022

race: 2pm BST (3pm local)

How can I watch Formula 1?

In the UK, Formula 1 is only broadcast live on Sky Sports, with highlights available on Channel 4 several hours after the end of the race. Live streaming via NOW is also available in the UK.

Sky Sports F1, which broadcasts F1 races, can be added as part of the Sky Sports channels at a cost of £20 a month for new customers. Sky Sports can also be accessed through NOW with a one-off daily payment of £11.98 or a monthly membership of £33.99 per month.

Fans who want to watch the race for free will have to wait until Saturday afternoon (qualifying) or Sunday afternoon (race) to watch the highlights on Channel 4.

How can I watch the Belgian GP?

Channel: Sky Sports F1 HD

  • Channel Numbers – Sky: 406
  • Channel Numbers – Virgin Media: 506

Sky Sports has the live and exclusive broadcast rights in the UK, with preparation for the Belgian F1 GP race starting at 12:30pm on Sky Sports F1 before the lights go out at 2:00pm.

Last year's race was spoiled by the weather and didn't get off the ground

Last year’s race was spoiled by the weather and didn’t get off the ground

Photo by: Jerry Andre / Motorsport Images

When can I watch the highlights of the Belgian F1 GP?

Channel: channel 4
Start time: Qualifying – 18:30 Saturday, Race – 18:30 Sunday

Channel 4 has the rights to show the Belgian GP qualifying and race highlights.

Will the Belgian F1 GP be on the radio?

Live radio broadcasts of every practice session, qualifying session and race for the 2022 F1 season will be available on BBC Radio 5 Live or 5 Live Sports Extra channels and via the BBC Sport website.

Coverage of the Belgian GP starts at 14:00 BST on the BBC Sport website and BBC Sounds app.

Weather forecast for the Belgian GP

Spa-Francorchamps is set for warm but mixed conditions throughout the race weekend, with a low chance of rain on Saturday and Sunday. Highs of 23 degrees Celsius are forecast for the start of the race on Sunday, four degrees colder than last time’s Hungarian GP.

Most Belgian F1 GP wins

Michael sSchumacher: 6 wins (1992, 1995, 1996, 1997, 2001, 2002)
Ayrton Senna: 5 wins (1985, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991)
Jim Clark: 4 wins (1962, 1963, 1964, 1965)
Kimi Raikkonen: 4 wins (2004, 2005, 2007, 2009)
Lewis Hamilton: 4 wins (2010, 2015, 2017, 2020)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *