AFL Awards winners: Final All Australian team, AFLPA MVP, Leigh Matthews Trophy, AFLCA Champion, Most Courageous, Best Captain

The night of the AFL Awards saw the naming of the All-Australian 2022 team and several other individual honours.

The AFL Coaches Association announced their Champion Player of the Year and Best Young Player awards.

The AFL Players Association named its Best Freshman, Bravest Player, Best Captain and MVP.

Charlie Curnow was recognized as the Coleman Medal winner while Nick Daicos won the Rising Star.

Check out the all-Australia team and all award winners below.

All Australian Team 2022

FB Tom Stewart (GEE) Steven May (MEL) Brayden Maynard (COL)
hb Jack Sinclair (STK) Sam Taylor (GWS) Adam Saad (car)
C Touk Miller (GCS) Clayton Oliver (MEL) Callum Mills (SYD)
HF Shai Bolton (RIC) Jeremy Cameron (GEE) Christian Petracca (MEL)
FF Charlie Curnow (Car) Tom Hawkins (GEE) Tyson Stengel (GEE)
R Max Gawn (MEL) Patrick Cripps (Car) Lachie Neale (BRIS)
INT Mark Blicavs (GEE) Andrew Brayshaw (FR) Isaac Heeney (SYD)
Connor Rozee (POR)

AFL Awards Winner

AFL Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year Award

Melbourne’s Clayton Oliver and Gold Coast’s Touk Miller have shared the prestigious honor chosen by the coaches.


98 votes = Clayton Oliver (Melbourne)
98 votes = Touk Miller (Gold Coast)
92 votes – Lachie Neale (Brisbane)
89 votes – Christian Petracca (Melbourne)
88 votes – Connor Rozee (Port Adelaide)
86 voices – Patrick Cripps (Carlton)
76 votes – Jeremy Cameron (Geelong)
74 Voices – Andrew Brayshaw (Fremantle)
65 votes – Callum Mills (Sydney)
60 Voices – Mark Blicavs (Geelong)

AFL Players Association MVP – Leigh Matthews Trophy

Fremantle midfielder Andrew Brayshaw has won the Best Player award, voted for by his peers.


1. Andrew Brayshaw (Fremantle)

2. Clayton Oliver (Melbourne)

3. Shai Bolton (Richmond)

4. Lachie Neale (Brisbane Lions)

5. Jeremy Cameron (Geelong Cats)

AFL Rising Star winner

Collingwood’s Nick Daicos was honored with the AFL’s Rising Star Award in his freshman year in AFL football after a stellar season.

Click here to go to the Movers Rankings.

AFLCA Best Young Player

Hawthorn midfielder Jai Newcombe wins the award after an outstanding season in the engine room.

AFLPA Best Captain

Collingwood veteran Scott Pendlebury was named the AFL’s best captain by his peers.


1. Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood)

2. Joel Selwood (Geelong Cats)

3. Max Gawn (Melbourne

4. Patrick Cripps (Carlton)

5. Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs)

AFLPA very brave

Richmond provider Liam Baker was voted the bravest of his fellow players.


1. Liam Baker (Richmond)

2. Brayden Maynard (Collingwood)

3. Jack Viney (Melbourne)

4. Paddy McCartin (Sydney Swans)

5. Sam Docherty (Carlton)

AFLPA Best First-Year Player

After winning the Rising Star Award, Collingwood-Jet Nick Daicos was also voted Best Freshman Player by his peers.


1. Nick Daicos (Collingwood)

2. Nic Martin (Essendon)

3. Marcus Windhager (St Kilda)

4. Joshua Gibcus (Richmond)

5. Jesse Motlop (Carlton)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *