F1 Hungarian Grand Prix preview: Previous winners, lap record, circuit layout, history and more

Formula 1 returns to the Hungaroring this weekend for the 2023 Hungarian Grand Prix.

This also applies to another former winner: Daniel Ricciardo celebrates his comeback in this sport with AlphaTauri and replaces the outgoing Nyck De Vries for the rest of the season.

The veteran Australian won this race back in 2014 and this circuit has been a source of drama and action ever since. From Esteban Ocon’s lone win in 2021 to Lewis Hamilton’s famous lone restart that same year, racing here has produced some iconic moments.

From track stats to past results, The sports news tells you everything you need to know about the Hungarian Grand Prix and its illustrious history.

MORE: Hungarian F1 Grand Prix predictions, odds, betting tips, best bets for 2023 race

Facts and layout of the Hungaroring circuit

  • Host of the first Grand Prix: 1986
  • number of rounds: 70
  • track length: 4.381km
  • Total race distance: 306.63km

MORE: 2023 season calendar, circuit list, all-time fastest lap times and more

Interesting facts about the Hungarian Grand Prix

  • The inaugural Hungarian Formula 1 Grand Prix, held in 1986, was the first race of its kind to go beyond the Iron Curtain. To host the event, the communist authorities in Hungary built a racetrack just outside of Budapest. The Hungaroring circuit was completed in eight months and an estimated 200,000 fans attended the opening event.
  • Lewis Hamilton holds the record for most poles at the track after taking his eighth in 2021. He’s also won eight times here, the most drivers at a circuit in Formula 1 history.
  • Famous drivers like Jenson Button, Damon Hill, Fernando Alonso and Heikki Kovalainen all took their first F1 wins at the Hungarian Grand Prix.
  • Five different drivers in the 2023 F1 grid have already won at the Hungaroring: Lewis Hamilton, Max Verstappen, Fernando Alonso, Daniel Ricciardo and Esteban Ocon.

List of previous winners of the Hungarian Grand Prix

Below is a full list of Hungarian Grand Prix winners from the days when the race was an integral part of the Formula 1 calendar.

1986 Nelson Piquet Williams Honda
1987 Nelson Piquet Williams Honda
1988 Ayrton Senna McLaren Honda
1989 Nigel Mansell Ferrari
1990 Thierry Boutsen Williams Renault
1991 Ayrton Senna McLaren Honda
1992 Ayrton Senna McLaren Honda
1993 Damon Hill Williams Renault
1994 Michael sSchumacher Benetton Ford
1995 Damon Hill Williams Renault
1996 Jacques Villeneuve Williams Renault
1997 Jacques Villeneuve Williams Renault
1998 Michael sSchumacher Ferrari
1999 Mika Hakkinen McLaren Mercedes
2000 Mika Hakkinen McLaren Mercedes
2001 Michael sSchumacher Ferrari
2002 Rubens Barrichello Ferrari
2003 Fernando Alonso Renault
2004 Michael sSchumacher Ferrari
2005 Kimi Raikkonen McLaren Mercedes
2006 Jenson Button Honda
2007 Lewis Hamilton McLaren Mercedes
2008 Heikki Kovalainen McLaren Mercedes
2009 Lewis Hamilton McLaren Mercedes
2010 Mark Webber Red Bull Racing Renault
2011 Jenson Button McLaren Mercedes
2012 Lewis Hamilton McLaren Mercedes
2013 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2014 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing Renault
2015 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
2016 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2017 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
2018 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2019 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2020 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2021 Esteban Ocon Alpine Renault
2022 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing RBPT

Who holds the fastest lap record at the Hungarian Grand Prix?

Lewis Hamilton – 1:16.627 (2020)

In 2020, seven-time world champion Lewis Hamilton set the fastest lap ever at the Hungarian Grand Prix when he clocked a time of 1:16.627 en route to his eighth race win at the Hungaroring.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *