Gerwyn Price wins night seven of the Premier League as Chris Dobey claims historic whitewash over Michael van Gerwen

Chris Dobey became the first player in Premier League history to record a whitewash victory over Michael van Gerwen but it was Gerwyn Price who won the night in Nottingham.

After beating world champion Michael Smith 6-4 in his quarterfinals, Dobey averaged 101.33 against MVG, hit four 180s, two 100 checkouts and pinned six of his nine double attempts during a scintillating performance.

Van Gerwen, who averaged 100, was on a 10-game winning streak in the competition after a 6-1 win over Peter Wright in the quarter-finals and was looking to win his fourth straight night but had to pay for it at a double-in missing a single dart in legs three, four and five.

Dobey failed to quite clinch his second nighttime title of the season – and first since opening night – as Price put on an excellent performance to lead the final 6-4 with a 101 average compared to the Northumberland ace’s 95.48 win.

The Welshman, who previously beat compatriots Jonny Clayton and Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-4, also threw all four 180s in the match and landed two of the three 100+ checkouts before finally getting over the line after missing five darts had in a double in the ninth leg.

It was Price’s second nighttime win of the season, having triumphed in week three to move ahead of Smith to second in the standings.

“I thought I played pretty well tonight, I just missed a couple of doubles which got people into the games,” Price said. “I’ve played well for the past few weeks but players keep outplaying me in games.

“I was really nervous against Jonny, I very rarely feel as nervous as I do in this game; I knew I could slide down the table if I lost so I needed that win and then I found my feet in the last two games.

“The spectators have been good for me in the last few weeks and that makes me play better. Hopefully I can get going and make the playoffs.”

Premier League Darts 2023: Night Seven Results

night 7, Thursday March 16th
Motorpoint Arena, Nottingham
TV Channel: Sky Sports (1900 GMT)


  • Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-4 Nathan Aspinall
  • Jonny Clayton 4-6 Gerwyn Price
  • Peter Wright 1-6 Michael van Gerwen
  • Chris Dobey 6-4 Michael Smith


  • Dimitri Van den Bergh 4-6 Gerwyn Prize
  • Michael van Gerwen 0-6 Chris Dobey


  • Gerwyn Price 6-4 Chris Dobey


Darts: Related Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *