IIHF Women’s World Championship 2022: Dates, times, schedule and how to watch games

While the NHL has yet to reach preseason, the summer of international hockey continues. Less than a week after the conclusion of World Juniors 2022, the 2022 IIHF Women’s World Championship begins this week, with the first games taking place on Thursday.

The best hockey players in the world gather in Europe for the next 11 days to take part in the World Championship. Canada enter the tournament as reigning champions, having previously beaten the United States 3-2 in overtime in 2021.

This is the first time the tournament has been held in Denmark and the first time the tournament has been held in an Olympic year. Normally, the IIHF has not held the Women’s World Championship in the same calendar year as the Olympics, however the organization announced in September 2021 that the major league would play a tournament.

MORE: Who can return to play at World Juniors 2023?

Here’s everything you need to know about the 2022 IIHF Women’s World Championship

Who is playing at the 2022 IIHF Women’s World Championship?

This year, 10 teams are participating in the IIHF Women’s World Championship. They will be divided into two groups of eight.

The IIHF has banned all Russian and Belarusian national teams from participating in international tournaments, so Russia will not participate in this tournament. Sweden will take Russia’s place.

2022 IIHF Women’s World Championship Rankings

United States 0-0-0-0 0
Canada 0-0-0-0 0
Finland 0-0-0-0 0
Switzerland 0-0-0-0 0
Japan 0-0-0-0 0
Czech Republic 0-0-0-0 0
Germany 0-0-0-0 0
Hungary 0-0-0-0 0
Denmark 0-0-0-0 0
Sweden 0-0-0-0 0

Group A consists of the top five teams from the tournament and all five advance to the quarter-finals. Group B consists of the bottom half of the group, where only the top three teams will advance to the Quarterfinals and the bottom team of the group will be relegated to next year’s Division IA tournament.

The winner of the quarter-finals advances to the semi-finals while the losers play a game to determine their final placings in places 5-8. The winners of the semi-finals play for the gold medal in the game, the losers fight for bronze.

Where is the 2022 IIHF Women’s World Championship?

  • Cities: Herning/Frederikshavn, Denmark
  • Venues: KVIK Hockey Arena, Iscenter North

This year’s IIHF World Championship will take place in Denmark. There are two venues for the 2022 tournament, Herning and Frederikshavn.

Group A will play their games at KVIK Hockey Arena in Herning, while Group B will play their games at Iscenter Nord in Frederikshavn. The knockout matches will also be split between the two.

This is the first time that Denmark is hosting a Women’s World Cup.

How to watch the 2022 IIHF Women’s World Championship

In the United States, select games, as well as semifinals and medal games, will be broadcast on NHL Network.

You can stream NHL Network on Sling TV, Fubo TV, or DIRECTV Stream. Games not on the NHL Network will be streamed on ESPN+.

  • Canada TV: TSN, RDS
  • Canada live stream: TSN.ca, TSN app

Canadians can watch matches on TSN (in English) or RDS (in French).

TSN can be streamed on TSN.ca, through the TSN App and TSN Direct.

When is the 2022 IIHF Women’s World Championship?

  • Beginning: Thursday, 08/25
  • End: Sunday, September 4th

The tournament begins on August 25 with the start of the group match.

The playoffs begin on September 1st with the quarterfinals. The semi-finals will be held on September 3rd and the bronze and gold medal matches will be played on September 4th.

Thursday 25 August 9 am Japan vs USA
Thursday 25 August 9:30 am Germany vs Hungary
Thursday 25 August 13 o’clock Finland vs Canada
Thursday 25 August 1:30 p.m Denmark vs Sweden
Friday 26 August 12:30 pm Switzerland vs. Japan
Friday 26 August 13 o’clock Hungary vs Czech Republic
Saturday 27 August 9 am USA vs Finland
Saturday 27 August 9:30 am Sweden vs Germany
Saturday 27 August 13 o’clock Canada vs Switzerland
Saturday 27 August 1:30 p.m Czech Republic vs Denmark
Sunday 28 August 9 am Japan vs Canada
Sunday 28 August 11 clock Denmark vs Hungary
Monday 29 August 9 am Finland vs Japan
Monday 29 August 9:30 am Germany vs Czech Republic
Monday 29 August 13 o’clock USA vs Switzerland
Monday 29 August 1:30 p.m Hungary vs Sweden
Tuesday, August 30th 9:30 am Sweden vs Czech Republic
Tuesday, August 30th 10 am Switzerland vs. Finland
Tuesday, August 30th 1:30 p.m Denmark vs Germany
Tuesday, August 30th 14 o’clock Canada vs USA
Thursday 1 Sept 6:15 a.m quarter finals
Thursday 1 Sept 10:15 am quarter finals
Thursday 1 Sept 11:30 a.m quarter finals
Thursday 1 Sept 2:15 p.m quarter finals
Saturday September 3rd 6 o’clock in the morning placement round
Saturday September 3rd 8 o’clock semifinals
Saturday September 3rd 10 am placement round
Saturday September 3rd 12 o’clock semifinals
Sunday, September 4th 5 am placement round
Sunday, September 4th 9 am Bronze medal game
Sunday, September 4th 1:30 p.m Game for the gold medal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *