Little League World Series teams, ages, pitch count & more to know for 2022 tournament

The Little League World Series is once again putting a world emphasis on their 2022 tournament.

A year after returning to an all-US field for the first time since 1975, the 75th Little League World Series will once again feature the best competitions from around the world, including two new expansion teams for the United States and international competitions.

Last year, Taylor North Little League (Taylor, Michigan) beat West Side Little League (Hamilton, Ohio) in the finals. Of course, there will be no such finals this year as teams from outside the United States are back.

The US has won the Little League World Series three straight years, the longest such streak since US-based teams won the tournament five straight years from 2005-2009. Will the final series grow to four, or will an international team step in to claim the crown?

MORE: Little League World Series 2022 schedule, results and channels

Sporting News has everything you need to know about this year’s tournament:

Little League World Series 2022 teams

The 2022 Little League World Series will feature a 20-team field for the first time as international rosters return for the first time since 2019. This year’s tournament will add two teams from both brackets – Metro and Mountain in the US, and Panama and Puerto Rico internationally – to expand the field to 20 teams.

Also of note: Little League World Series expansion teams begin 2022 with a three-year rotation between Panama, Puerto Rico, and Cuba, with the former two accepting the first automatic bid rotation this year. Automatic bid rotation will move to Panama and Cuba in 2023 and Cuba and Puerto Rico in 2024. The third country each year still has a chance to qualify via its regional tournament (Cuba didn’t make it out of the Caribbean this year).

Here’s a look at the teams set to compete for the 2022 Little League World Series title:

US teams

region team location
New England Middleborough Little League Middleborough, Mass.
metro Massapequa Coast Little League Massapequa, New York
mid-atlantic Hollidaysburg Area Summer Baseball Little League Holidaysburg, Pa.
South East Little League of Nolensville Nolensville, Tennessee.
Big lakes Little League of Hagerstown Hagerstown, Ind.
Middle West Davenport Southeast Little League Davenport, Iowa
Mountain Snow Canyon Little League Santa Clara, Utah
southwest Pearland Little League Pearland, Texas
northwest Bonney Lake/Summer Little League Bonney Lake, Washington.
west Honolulu Little League Honolulu, Hawaii

International teams

region team location
Latin America September 14 Little League Managua, Nicaragua
Caribbean Small Pabao League Willemstad, Curaco
Australia Brisbane North Little League Queensland, Australia
Canada Little Mountain Little League Vancouver, British Columbia
Europe-Africa Little League of Emilia Romagna Bologna, Italy
Asia Pacific Minor Fu Lin League Taipei City, Chinese Taipei
Panama Aguadulce Cabezera Little League Aguadulce, Panama
Japan Little League by Takaruzaka Takaruzaka, Japan
Puerto Rico Little League of Guaynabo Guianabo, Puerto Rico
Mexico Little League of Matamoros Matamoros, Tamaulipas, Mexico

Little League World Series 2022 bracket

You can download a PDF of the complete Little League World Series 2022 bracket here.

Venue of the Little League World Series

The Little League World Series returns to Williamsport, Pennsylvania, where the event has been held since its inception in 1947.

How old are the Little League World Series players?

This year the eligible age group for participants is between 10 and 12 years old. The previous two tournaments only allowed 11- and 12-year-olds. Previously, the age group allowed children as young as 13 to play.

What is the LLWS pitch count limit?

The Little League World Series 2022 has different rules for the number of places for its participants this year, considering that 10-year-olds are now allowed to participate (unlike the previous two tournaments, which only allowed 11-12-year-olds were allowed).

Under Little League Baseball regulations, 10-year-olds have a 75-pitch count. Participants who are 11 or 12 years old can throw up to 85 pitches in one game. The specified rest time per pitch count is the same for all participants aged 10-12 and remains the same as in previous years:

pitches rest days
66-85 4
51-65 3
36-50 2
21-35 1
1-20 0

Field size of the Little League World Series

  • 46 feet: Pitching rubber to home plate
  • 60 feet: Length of base paths
  • 225 feet: Home plate to outfield fence

The return of the Little League World Series to Williamsport, Pennsylvania means the series will continue to be played at Howard J. Lamade’s and Little League Volunteer’s stadiums, both of which share the same dimensions.

Who won the LLWS 2021?

Taylor North Little League of Taylor, Michigan won the 2021 Little League World Series. It was the first such title for a Michigan team since 1959. The team defeated the West Side Little League of Hamilton, Ohio in the LLWS Finals with 5 :2 (previously the team defeated the team 9-1 in the Great Lakes Regional). Final).

Taylor North reached the Little League World Series 7-0, 3-0 in the Michigan State Championship Tournament and 4-0 in the Great Lakes Regional Tournament. The team went 4-1 in the Hank Aaron championship bracket and only lost 2-0 to Hawaii in the third round of the bracket. Michigan avenged the loss in the bracket final and won 2-1.

List of past Little League World Series champions

Chinese Taipei (Taiwan) wins most Little League World Series titles with 17 (last win was in 1996). Next on the list are Japan with nine (last won in 2017) and California, last won in 2011.

Each of the last three Little League World Series has produced new champions in Hawaii (2018), Louisiana (2019), and Michigan (2021).

Year winner
1947 Williamsport, Pa.
1948 Lockhaven, Pa.
1949 Hammonton, New Jersey
1951 Stamford, Conn.
1952 Norwalk, Conn.
1953 Birmingham, Ala.
1954 Schenectady, New York
1955 Morrisville, Pa.
1956 Roswell, NM
1957 Monterrey, Mexico
1958 Monterrey, Mexico
1959 Hamtramk, Mich.
1960 Levittown, Pa.
1961 El Cajon, California
1962 San Jose, California
1963 Granada Hills, California
1964 Staten Island, New York
1965 Windsor Locks, Conn.
1966 Houston
1967 West Tokyo, Japan
1968 Wakayama, Osaka, Japan
1969 Taichung, Chinese Taipei
1970 Wayne, NJ
1971 Tainan, Chinese Taipei
1972 Taipei, Chinese Taipei
1973 Tainan, Chinese Taipei
1974 Kaohsiung, Chinese Taipei
1975 Lakewood, NJ
1976 Chofu, Tokyo, Japan
1977 Kahosiung, Chinese Taipei
1978 Pingtung, Chinese Taipei
1979 Chiayi County, Chinese Taipei
1980 Hua-Lien, Chinese Taipei
1981 Taichung, Chinese Taipei
1982 Kirkland, Washington.
1983 Marietta, Ga.
1984 Seoul, South Korea
1985 Seoul, South Korea
1986 Tainan, Chinese Taipei
1987 Hua-Lien, Chinese Taipei
1988 Taichung, Chinese Taipei
1989 Trumbull, Conn.
1990 Tainan County, Chinese Taipei
1991 Taichung, Chinese Taipei
1992 Long Beach, California
1993 Long Beach, California
1994 Maracaibo, Venezuela
1995 Tainan, Chinese Taipei
1996 Kaohsiung, Chinese Taipei
1997 Guadalupe, Mexico
1998 Tom’s River, New Jersey
1999 Hirakata, Osaka, Japan
2001 Maracaibo, Venezuela
2002 Valley station, Ky.
2003 Musashi-Fuchu, Tokyo, Japan
2004 Willemstad, Curacao
2005 Ewa Beach, Hawaii
2006 Columbus, Ga.
2007 Warner Robins, Ga.
2008 Waipahu, Hawaii
2009 Chula Vista, California
2010 Edogawa Minami, Tokyo, Japan
2011 Huntington Beach, California
2012 Tokyo Kitasuna, Tokyo, Japan
2013 Musashi Fuchu, Tokyo, Japan
2014 Seoul, South Korea
2015 Tokyo Kitasuna, Tokyo, Japan
2016 Maine-Endwell, NY
2017 Tokyo Kitasuna, Tokyo, Japan
2018 Honolulu
2019 River Ridge, La.
2020 Canceled due to COVID-19
2021 Taylor, Mich.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *