Where, when and how to vote in Kamloops on Oct. 15 | iNFOnews

October 13, 2022 – 7:00 p.m

Election Day for Kamloops is approaching and the list of candidates is long.

There are 28 candidates running for a seat on the next city council, five of whom want to be the city’s next mayor. With just three incumbents running for councilors and three current councilors running for the next mayor, the nine-seat table will look very different after October 15.

There are also 10 school trustee candidates running for five of the school board’s nine seats. The remaining four are elected in the surrounding communities within the school district.

For those who are still undecided, the deadline is this week. Here is a guide on who is running, how to get more information and where to vote.



  • Dhaliwal, Ray
  • Dudi, Dieter
  • Hamer-Jackson, Reid
  • Hunter, Sadie
  • Singh, Arjun


  • Allen, Jamie
  • Bass, Dale (I)
  • Beppel, Nancy
  • Cleland, Bonnie
  • Dersh, George
  • Giesbrecht, Dennis
  • Gordon, Mac
  • Hall, Kelly
  • Karpuk, Stephen
  • Koenig, Caroline F.
  • Lambert, Francois
  • LaRiviere, Darrell
  • Middleton, Margot
  • Nelson, Daphane
  • Neustadter, Katie
  • O’Reilly, Mike (I)
  • Proctor, Jordan
  • Rocheleau, Reo
  • Ritcey, Jesse
  • Sandur, Taj
  • Sarai, Bill (I)
  • Sharma, Darpan
  • Sunderman, Randy

Links and contact information for each candidate can be found here.


  • Andersberg, Marian
  • Behmanesh, Shahriar
  • Mourning, Heather (I)
  • Hickson, Cole
  • Johal, Jimmy
  • Kan, Jo
  • Karpuk, Kathleen (I)
  • O’Fee, John (I)
  • Peerce, Karla
  • Rowse, Jennifer


At least three organizations have supported candidates in recent weeks.

The Kamloops and District Labor Council announced its support for Sadie Hunter as the city’s next mayor.

It also confirmed seven people for the council’s eight seats and four school trustee candidates for five seats.


  • Dale Bass
  • Daphane Nelson
  • Katie Neustatter
  • Jesse Ritcey
  • Taj Sandur
  • Bill Saray
  • Randy Sunderman

school board

  • Heather Grieve
  • Cole Hickson
  • Jo Kan
  • Kathleen Karpuk

Further information can be found here on the website of the works council.

Transition Kamloops, recognized by Elections BC as a third-party sponsor, endorsed Arjun Singh as a lead candidate for climate action. Singh, Dudy and Hunter, along with 15 council candidates, responded to Transition Kamloops polls.

It approved six candidates for the eight Council seats:

  • Dale Bass
  • Nancy Beppel
  • Bonnie Cleland
  • Daphane Nelson
  • Jesse Ritcey
  • Randy Sunderman

Here is the full list of Transition Kamloops survey responses.

The Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE) endorsed Sadie Hunter as the next mayor, along with seven council candidates and four school administrators.


  • Bill Saray
  • Dale Bass
  • Daphane Nelson
  • Jesse Ritcey
  • Katie Neustatter
  • Randy Sunderman
  • Taj Sandur

school board:

  • Cole Hickson
  • Heather Grieve
  • Jo Kan
  • Kathleen Karpuk

CONTINUE READING: What do school districts actually do and how much power do they have?

Other organizations have launched polls and hosted forums but have not announced support for specific candidates.

The Kamloops Center for the Arts Society released poll results of 24 out of 29 candidates focused solely on building a downtown performing arts center.

Although the society did not endorse any candidates, poll results show that most candidates support the construction of the arts center, but the question of funding remains up for debate.

The survey results can be found here on the company’s website.

CONTINUE READING: What can a local politician actually do about crime?

The Canadian Home Builders Association of the Southern Interior also participated in the election, encouraging voters to look out for pro-development candidates.

The association says “bureaucracy” in the homebuilders industry is overwhelming and backs candidates who will deregulate the industry.

It held a candidate forum at Colombo Lodge on Wednesday 12 October but has not yet announced any confirmations.

Local media also held two forums for candidates in recent weeks.

Kamloops This Week, CBC Radio and Radio NL hosted a forum for all candidates on October 5th. You can find the full video here.

CFJC hosted a forum for mayoral candidates on October 4, where crime and road issues were the main themes in the room. The full video of this forum can be found here.

Almost every candidate has a profile that can be found on Castanet Kamloops and CFJC TV.

CONTINUE READING: Crime rules the room at Kamloops Election Forum for Seniors


  • You must be a Canadian citizen;
  • at least 18 years old on October 15, 2022;
  • a BC resident for at least 6 months prior to the date you register to vote;
  • a resident of the municipality (no minimum time) or a qualified non-resident real estate voter (must have owned the real estate for at least 30 days prior to the date you register to vote); and not excluded from the right to vote.
  • You are disqualified from voting if you have been convicted of a criminal offense and are currently in custody or if you have been convicted of an electoral violation.


Eligible voters must present two forms of ID to prove both their residency and their identity. At least one ID must be signed. Your ID does not have to include a photo. Acceptable forms of identification are:

  • BC driver’s license*
  • ICBC vehicle insurance
  • BC ID card
  • BC service card*
  • citizenship card
  • Property tax note
  • Social security number card
  • Credit card
  • Utility bill for council residence (electricity, natural gas, water, telephone or cable network)

*NOTE: A combination of BC driver’s license and services card only counts as one piece of identification


  • Aberdeen Primary School – 2191 Van Horne Drive
  • Arthur Hatton Elementary School – 315 Chestnut Avenue
  • Arthur Stevenson Elementary School – 2890 Bank Road
  • Beattie Elementary School – 492 McGill Road
  • Brocklehurst Middle School – 985 Windbreak Street
  • Dallas Elementary School – 296 Harper Road
  • Dufferin Elementary School – 1880 Hillside Drive
  • Heritage House – 100 Lorne Street
  • Juniper Ridge Elementary School – 2540 Qu’Appelle Blvd
  • Lloyd George Elementary School – 830 Pine Street
  • NorKam Secondary School – 730 12th Street
  • Rayleigh Elementary School – 306 Puett Ranch Road
  • RL Clemitson Elementary School – 5990 Todd Road
  • South Sahali Elementary School – 1585 Summit Drive
  • Valleyview High School – 1950 Valleyview Drive
  • Westmount Elementary School – 745 Walkem Road

All polling stations are open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. You can find an interactive map of all polling stations here.

To contact a reporter for this story email Levi Landry or call 250-819-3723 or email the editor. You can also send photos, videos or news tips to the newsroom and enter a monthly prize draw.

We welcome your comments and opinions on our stories, but play nice. We will not censor or delete comments unless they contain off-topic statements or links, unnecessary vulgarity, false facts, spam, or obviously fake profiles. If you have any concerns about what you see in comments, email the editor at the link above.

News from © iNFOnews, 2022


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *