World Juniors MVP: Full list of previous winners for tournament’s most valuable player

Although it’s August, the World Juniors are here as the IIHF restarts the tournament after it started but was canceled in December.

Ten teams compete in Edmonton for an opportunity to take home a gold, silver or bronze medal, but there are a few other awards up for grabs.

In addition to the Directorate awards, presented to the best forward, defender and goaltender, there is the tournament’s MVP award up for grabs, awarded to the most valuable player.

Trevor Zegras is the youngest MVP winner to score in USA’s gold medal win against Canada and also led the tournament as the tournament’s top scorer.

Who will take it in 2022? Here is the list of receivers that the player will join as World Juniors MPV.

Who was World Juniors MVP?

The MVP of the tournament always went to a member of one of the three teams that received medals, either gold, silver or bronze.

The award differs from the World Juniors Directorate Awards, which awards three – Best Striker, Best Defender and Best Goalkeeper.

It’s possible to win both a Directorate Award and the MPV, but that’s not always the case. For example, Trevor Zegras was named MVP in 2021, but the award for best forward went to Tim Stutzle.

Year winner
2021 Trevor Zegras (USA)
2020 Alexis Lafreniere (Canada)
2019 Ryan Pohling (USA)
2018 Casey Mittelstadt (USA)
2017 Thomas Chabot (Canada)
2016 Jesse Puljujarvi (Finland)
2015 Denis Godla (Slovakia)
2014 Filip Forsberg (Sweden)
2013 John Gibson (USA)
2012 Yevgeny Kuznetsov (Russia)
2011 Brayden Schön (Canada)
2010 Jordan Eberle (Canada)
2009 John Tavares (Canada)
2008 Steve Mason (Canada)
2007 Carey Price (Canada)
2006 Evgeny Malkin (Russia)
2005 Patrice Bergeron (Canada)
2004 Zach Parise (USA)

Where are the World Juniors 2022?

  • Location: Edmonton, Alberta
  • Venue: Roger’s Place

The 2022 World Junior Championships will be held in Edmonton, Alberta. All games will be played at Rogers Place, home of the Oilers. It’s the first time since 1988 that there aren’t multiple venues.

Last December, when the 2022 tournament originally started, it was set for both Edmonton and Red Deer. Games were split between Rogers Place and the Peavey Mart Centrum in Red Deer, home of the WHL’s Red Deer Rebels.

Before the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2022 tournament was scheduled to take place in Gothenburg, Sweden. However, due to restrictions introduced with COVID-19, it was changed to Edmonton in September 2020. Instead, Gothenburg was reassigned for the 2024 tournament.

This year Edmonton will host World Juniors games for the fourth time, having previously hosted in 1995, 2012 and 2021.

When does the World Juniors 2022 start?

  • Start date: Tuesday, August 9th
  • Deadline: Saturday August 20th

After the tournament was canceled in December 2021, the IIHF is trying again for the 2022 edition in August. It starts on August 9th and runs for 12 days until August 20th.

The group stage begins on August 9th and takes place over the first seven days of the competition. The quarterfinals will all take place on August 17th, the semifinals on August 19th and the tournament will end with the bronze and gold games on August 20th.

How to watch World Juniors hockey games on TV and live stream

  • TV stations (Canada): TSN
  • Live Stream (Canada):, TSN app
  • TV stations (USA): NHL Network
  • Live Stream (USA): fuboTV

TSN and the NHL Network will once again host all the action at World Juniors 2022.

American audiences can watch the games live on TV on the NHL Network or stream them via fuboTV.

Canadian viewers can watch the competition on TSN or stream the games through or on the TSN app.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *