Davis Cup 2022: Who is playing for Australia, what group are they in and when did they last win it?

Australia have finalized their Davis Cup 2022 playgroup as they eye more team glory on the world stage.

Led by tennis icon Lleyton Hewitt, Australia qualified for the group stage in March with a 3-2 win over Hungary.

After failing to escape their group in 2021, Hewitt’s team will be hungry for a deeper run in the historic tournament.

Australia’s Davis Cup Players for the 2022 Finals

Hewitt confirmed the Australia Davis Cup lineup on August 16.

Top-ranked Australian Alex de Minaur will lead the team and won both of his singles matches in qualifying.

He is joined by Thanasi Kokkinakis, Alexei Popyrin and Jason Kubler as other single options.

Recent Wimbledon men’s doubles champions Matt Ebden and Max Purcell are expected to represent Australia in doubles after they were also selected.

Nick Kyrgios, who reached the Wimbeldon singles final this year, has opted out of playing for Australia and has not featured in the Davis Cup since 2019.

“It would have been great to have Nick on the team but unfortunately he wasn’t available for this duel,” said Hewitt.

“We fought our way through a really tough qualifier against Hungary in March which has now given us an opportunity to build on that and the lads understood what it was about. I look forward to Alex leading the team in Hamburg.”

Australia’s Davis Cup team:

  • Alex from Minaur
  • Thanasi Kokkinakis
  • Alexei Popyrin
  • Jason Kuebler
  • Matt Ebden
  • Max Purcell
The Minaur Davis Cup

Australia’s Davis Cup group for 2022

Australia were drawn in Group C for the 2022 Davis Cup finals alongside France, Germany and Belgium.

Their group matches will be played in Hamburg, Germany, with Australia playing Belgium first on September 13, 2022.

Hewitt’s team will then bounce back against France two days later before concluding the group stage against Germany.

Some key players Australia will have to contend with in their group are: David Goffin (Belgium), Adrian Mannarino (France) and Alexander Zverev (Germany).

Has Australia ever won the Davis Cup?

Australia is no stranger to Davis Cup success, having won the tournament 28 times – behind only the USA for the most titles.

Some of those wins came from Australia, with Australia’s last win now dating back to 2003.

Hewitt, Mark Philippoussis, Wayne Arthurs and Todd Woodbridge all starred that year as Australia beat Spain 3-1 in the final.

Australia have not made it to a Davis Cup final since 2003, with the best final heat coming in 2017 when they were beaten by Belgium in the semifinals.

Australia’s most recent Davis Cup record

Year result
2020-21 group stage
2019 quarter finals
2018 endgames
2017 semifinals
2016 endgames
2015 semifinals
2014 endgames
2013 endgames
2012 endgames
2011 endgames

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *